BLISLAND VILLAGE HALL

GENERAL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Chairman: Phil Shephard Foxdown Tregenna Road Blisland, Bodmin Cornwall PL30 4JS Phil.shephard@btinternet.com <u>Treasurer:</u> Clare Sprenger 7 Manor Close Blisland, Bodmin Cornwall PL30 4JY <u>Secretary:</u> Lin Teasdale 1 Manor Close Blisland, Bodmin Cornwall PL30 4JY

clare@sprenger.family

linteasdale1@gmail.com

Tel: 07488333375

Tel: 07722278898

Registered Charity No. 300039

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 17 September 2024 at 7pm

1. Present

Phil Shephard (Chair), Clare Sprenger (Treasurer), Lin Teasdale (Secretary), Anne Marie Irons, Steve Teasdale, Kelly Pengelly, Katie Vause, Heidi Hill and Keith Lowden.

2. In Attendance

Sandra Matthews, Bob Smith, Howard Sprenger, Edith Carey, Richard Carey, Christine Bond, Jean Pippard, Mary Riddiford, Pat Fletcher and Graham Fletcher.

3. Welcome

The Chairman, Phil Shephard, welcomed everyone in attendance to the Annual General Meeting of Blisland Village Hall.

4. Apologies

No Apologies were received.

5. Minutes of the AGM held on Thursday 21 September 2023 (attached)

The minutes of the AGM held on Thursday 21 September 2023 were agreed as a true record and were adopted by Heidi Hill and seconded by Kelly Pengelly.

6. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

7. Chairman's Report – (see attached)

Phil Shephard highlighted the events that had taken place during the year. There were two events where individual Committee members worked really hard to organise these and to make them a wonderful successful. Therefore, Phil thanked Keith Lowden for organising the Easter Fayre and Kelly Pengelly for organising the Bingo night and to Heidi Hill who was the bingo caller on the night. Gill Ludgate (from the village) also received special thanks for all her hard work organising the Picture Exhibition over the May bank holiday.

Special thanks went to three members of the previous Committee that had stepped down during the year; Len Cronin (previous Chair), Ron Wilson, (previous Treasurer) and Karen Wylds for all their hard work and contributions to the running of the Village Hall. Phil thanked Sandra Matthews, who had stepped down from Booking Clerk for all her support and hard work.

Phil explained that the revenue from the regular bookings of the Village Hall currently met the day to day running costs of the hall, but any maintenance works or other expenses were additional to this revenue. There would be an addition to the regular bookings for the coming year, as the table tennis club was going to be reinstated.

Phil also explained that the Village Hall had been assessed by a professional surveyor and this was currently being reviewed by the Committee and would inform the priority of future works.

Phil thanked the current committee for all their hard work and for the support he had received throughout the year.

Questions from the Floor:-

Edith Carey – asked what maintenance was needed for the Hall.

Phil replied that this was currently under review by the Committee and a list of works would be drawn up in priority of order. He envisaged that the roof would be the Committee's first priority, as there was some sagging of the current roof timbers.

Mary Riddiford – what was the Parish Council's responsibility to the Hall.

Clare explained that although the Parish Council was the Custodian Trustee of the Village Hall; the Management Committee was financially independent and did not receive a grant from the Parish Council.

8. Treasurer's Report – (see attached)

Clare Sprenger had circulated her report which covered the last financial year. It was noted that the Village Hall had achieved a small surplus of £151.99 over the year. A detailed breakdown of the income and costs for the year could be found in the notes to the accounts circulated with the Treasurer's report.

Clare sent special thanks to all the local businesses that had supported the Village Hall throughout the year; for special deals and donating prizes which immensely helped make some of the Events very successful. It was highlighted that these businesses were mentioned in the relevant Community News for their contributions.

Thanks went to Clare for her full and informative report and there were no questions from the floor.

9. Resignation of Officers and Committee

The Committee stood down and Howard Sprenger, in attendance, kindly became the temporary Chair.

Howard firstly thanked the outgoing Committee for all their hard work over the past year.

Secondly, he asked for nominations from the floor to join the Committee; Bob Smith expressed an interest in becoming a Committee member.

10. Election of New Committee

Howard, as temporary Chair, explained that the Articles of Association stated that the constitution of the charity was allowed for the direct election of 12 members to the Management Committee.

Howard invited the outgoing Committee to stand again and all Committee members agreed to stand again.

Therefore, the following members were elected to serve on the Committee;

Phil Shephard, Lin Teasdale, Anne Marie Irons, Steve Teasdale, Kelly Pengelly, Katie Vause, Heidi Hill, Clare Sprenger and Keith Lowden.

Bob Smith, who had expressed an interest in becoming a Committee Member was nominated by Heidi Hill, and seconded by Steve Teasdale, he was then elected to the Committee on a show of hands.

The Management Committee of the Village Hall now stands at ten elected members, with no co-opted members and two vacancies.

11. Any Other Business

The new roles of the appointed Committee would be discussed and agreed at the first meeting of the new Committee following this meeting of the AGM.

Mary Riddiford suggested that the Village Hall should have a suggestion box; it was explained that there was one in the main entrance of the Hall, she suggested having one also in the Community Shop. **Action**: Management Committee

Mary also gave some ideas for future events:-

A quiz night with food, maybe a fish and chip van. Live Theatre productions and maybe a pantomime club.

The Committee agreed to look into these ideas. Action: Management Committee.

The meeting closed at 7.30pm. with thanks to all for attending.